Philip Cao

Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

CCSK obtains course mapping approval under IMDA’s CITREP+ Programme

4 min read

SINGAPORE – March 21, 2018 – The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), the world’s leading organization dedicated to defining and raising awareness of best practices to help ensure a secure cloud computing environment, is pleased to announce that its Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) course has successfully completed course mapping under CITREP+

Through this recognition, attendees who are Singapore citizens and permanent residents can attend the 3-day CCSK training course at subsidised costs under the Critical Infocomm Technology Resource Programme Plus (CITREP+) as a part of TechSkills Accelerator (TeSA), a programme which supports local professionals and working professionals to continuously reskill and stay abreast of the latest in-demand technical skills, to remain valued and competitive in Singapore. Singaporeans and permanent residents are also eligible for CITREP+ funding to take the CCSK examination.

“We look forward to seeing greater awareness, as well as deeper knowledge and understanding of cloud security in Singapore,” said Dr. Hing-Yan Lee, Executive Vice-President of CSA APAC. “With it, we expect increased cloud adoption towards achieving Singapore’s cloud vision of sharpening its overall competitiveness, as well as enhancing the vibrancy and growth of Singapore’s ICT sector through the development of a cloud ecosystem.”

There are several authorized CCSK training providers in Singapore. One of these is HP Education (HPE). Another authorized CCSK training provider is NTUC Leaning Hub Pte Ltd (LHUB) & RapidStart Pte Ltd. CSA plans to appoint more training providers to conduct CCSK training in Singapore.

Mr. Kwek Kok Kwong, CEO of LHUB shared, “Singapore is one of the most connected nations in the world. Digital technology is evolving everywhere, and it is becoming increasingly important to adopt measures that ensures security in the cyberspace. Time and again, we see cyber-attacks and it is crucial that we step up awareness of security amongst cloud users. We are therefore happy to partner with CSA to equip and deepen the necessary skillsets for individuals, in a bid to provide organisations with broader security capabilities when adopting cloud computing solutions for their businesses.”

“We are excited to announce our partnership with CSA which will continue to broaden our offerings in Cloud Computing Technology. There’s no doubt about the growing demand for skills and expertise in Cloud Computing and this partnership will enable us to join forces and collaborate with CSA together to address local industry needs”, said Dr Anton Ravindran CEO of Rapidstart Pte Ltd.”

Going forward, CSA will map CCSK to the Skills Framework for ICT, which is a guide for individuals, employers and training providers to promote ICT skills mastery and lifelong learning. The Skills Framework for ICT is also part of TeSA, an initiative of SkillsFuture. The framework can be used by employers to develop career maps and articulate job requirements, used by individuals to guide their skills identification and development to stay relevant, and used by training providers to devise ICT courses. Some critical skill areas include network and infrastructure, software development and engineering, data and analytics, cyber-security.

Since CSA first released CCSK in 2010, thousands of IT and security professionals have taken the opportunity to upgrade their skill sets and enhance their careers by obtaining the CCSK. Certification Magazine has listed CCSK at #1 on the Average Salary Survey 2016., Top Ten Cloud Computing Certifications, says: “This is the mother of all cloud computing security certifications. The Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge certification is vendor-neutral, and certifies competency in key cloud security areas.”

In addition to the CCSK, CSA together with (ISC)2 has developed the Certified Cloud Security Professional (CSSP), which recognizes IT and information security leaders who have the knowledge and competency to apply best practices to cloud security architecture, design, operations and service orchestration.

About TechSkills Accelerator (TeSA)

The TechSkills Accelerator (TeSA) is a tripartite initiative between the government, industry and the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), to build and develop a skilled Information and Communications Technology (ICT) workforce for the Singapore economy, and to enhance employability outcomes for individuals.

The Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA), which drives TeSA for ICT professional development, takes an integrated approach to ICT skills acquisition and practitioner training – in core ICT skills and in sector-specific ICT skills – and enhance employability outcomes through place and train programmes, and career advisory services. As of November 2017, TeSA has enabled more than 21,000 ICT professionals to upskill and reskill themselves.

About Cloud Security Alliance

The Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) is the world’s leading organization dedicated to defining and raising awareness of best practices to help ensure a secure cloud computing environment. CSA harnesses the subject matter expertise of industry practitioners, associations, governments, and its corporate and individual members to offer cloud security- specific research, education, certification, events and products. CSA’s activities, knowledge and extensive network benefit the entire community impacted by cloud — from providers and customers, to governments, entrepreneurs and the assurance industry — and provide a forum through which diverse parties can work together to create and maintain a trusted cloud ecosystem.

Media Contact

Kari Walker for the CSA
ZAG Communications
[email protected]

[Cloud Security Alliance Research News]

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2006-2022 Philip Hung Cao. All rights reserved